overthinking blog

Sometimes I think I overthink my blog. I try to plan the best strategy for blogging overall and adapt as I go, but what do I do with the older posts that no longer fit in with the adapted strategy? Do I erase them? Do I leave them for historic value? Do I go back and update them? And, what if I shift processes again (which I have done several times now)? How does that affect the decision with older posts and moving forward. Sometimes I think I should just let it go because honestly, it’s just a blog. These tough issues are things to be tackled by popular TV shows like the new 90210. I just seem to be a freak about it…call it my striving for close to perfection. I get annoyed by things that are obviously cluttered and stupid. For instance, on Facebook I always delete my “wall” messages so they don’t build up. I don’t want that stuff buildin’ up on there. I mean, I just want reading my blog to be just as enjoyable (and informative) as watching Murphy Brown.

Note: this post shall have no photos!

2 Responses to overthinking blog

  1. PauvrePlume says:

    Yo, pseudo-frère.
    All I want to say is that, seriously, you can/should do whatever the H you want with this blog. Obviously it depends what your goal is: do you want to get as much traffic as possible? or are you just out to share your thoughts as they surface, in whatever capacity and involving whatever subject? Because if the focus is on YOU, then who cares what the format is, right? On the other hand, if the focus is on outreach, then you might want to tweak and really pinpoint the theme of all your posts, making sure they’re cohesive.

    The other thing to consider is that you can always start ANOTHER blog as well… You could have one that’s more informal and “deep thoughts”-ish, and then maybe another one that strictly focuses on PR or California living or whatever you want. That way you maybe won’t feel so confined and conflicted about maintaining a single-focus blog.

    Anyway…just my two centimes.

    Check your pants!
    Cessluh

  2. Jen says:

    So, dont delete old posts…because one day i shall take them all and make them into a hilarious book and we will be millionaires!!

    I say you can subject jump as much as you want because it is very amusing. i am going to need more blogs on TV though because I love it!

Leave a comment